Questions from Stage One. Peripheral awareness vs Attention.

Front Page Forums Meditation Questions from Stage One. Peripheral awareness vs Attention.

This topic contains 22 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  amitm02 7 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author

John Anders

I have been meditating for about 3 months and have been using several forms of guided meditations. Reading the book seems like starting from scratch again and it seems like I am even at a level prior to me starting meditating (which is OK if it means I will eventually progress faster), and so I have several questions.

Is it normal to in the beginning not recognize the difference between peripheral awareness and attention? I seem to be a bit confused.

When reading the book I understand the difference between peripheral awareness and attention, but when it comes time to practice I have some difficulty. Specially when it comes to practicing the four steps. Specifically the first step.

What happens for me when I try to follow the instructions is my mind gets overwhelmed and scared from trying to take in everything at once and does not know what to focus on.

The instructions for step one state:

“Spend a few moments becoming fully present. Take in everything presented by the senses…”

“Open your peripheral awareness fully. Next, allow your attention to tune into and range freely among any of the sounds, bodily sensations”

Am I correct in assuming that the first part of step one (taking in everything presented by the senses and opening peripheral awareness fully) is a gradual process? If so, how does it start? Am I correct in assuming that there is no attention involved at this stage (before having opened awareness completely) The fact that there could be periphera awareness without focusing on anything seems wrong/impossible to me, yet that is what seems to be implied by the way the above sentences are presented.