Slooooooooooow / Noooooooooo Progress

Front Page Forums Meditation Slooooooooooow / Noooooooooo Progress

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Lesley Baker 5 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

James H

The fact that the thought i need to post here, has been a distraction to my meditation for the last few weeks says it all :).
    Sorry for the long post, but i thin the context is necessary.
    I’ve been meditating for 11 years, with so little progress except for the fact i’ve mostly been able to make myself sit daily.
    I have an exceptionally active mind and suffer from anxiety and depression.
    For the best part of a decade, i just assumed ‘meditation wasn’t really for me’ but kept practicing. Even though i have gone for a few weeks without meditating and don’t notice any difference.
    A friend showed me TMI in Sept 2017 and it blew my mind. I practiced it for a week and saw things in meditation i had never imagined, i could watch the breath mostly for 30 mins as i rushed through the stages in excitement. This was short lived though.
    After a particularily intense couple of months with anxiety which even stopped me meditating, i am back, mostly sitting for 30 mins a day and usually with a second afternoon sit of about 15-20 mins.
    However i am not getting anywhere, i can rarely get to the count.
    I set intentions, and i do find that momentarily i will be able to just enjoy sitting. But i get totally caught up in the 6 preliminary steps. When i get to bringing the awareness from senses down into the body, it’s like it’s too much freedom to begin with and i get lost. Usually i don’t make it past here.
    If i get to the counting usually my focus is ok and can start to follow the breath but this maybe only happens once a fortnight.
    I used to really try and rush through the 6 and then the 4 steps, but this doesn’t seem the right way to get through it.