The disappearance of rapture from jhanas

Front Page Forums Meditation The disappearance of rapture from jhanas

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Andrew S 5 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Vitaliy

I’ve been practicing by TMI for the last 10 months. My meditation typically falls in between stages 6-7. I was able to reach pleasure jhanas for the last ~2.5 months, somewhat inconsistently initially.

My current issue for the last ~3 weeks is that I started to experience very little pleasure from piti in my pleasure jhanas (I can reach first 4 fairly reliably). In the first 2 jhanas piti is mostly manifested for me as a physical sensation but there is no “rapture” anymore.

My session typically goes like this: I reach access concentration in the initial few minutes, continue focus on my breath (A&P, vibrating breath) with very rare subtle distractions. I put my attention on sukha and get to the 3rd jhana. Last few days I was able to get to the 4th jhana from the 3rd (the transition is unmistakable). When I come up to the 2nd and 1st jhana from the 3rd I feel pleasure from sukha and strong physical manifestations of piti but very little pleasure from it. Same happens if I go directly to 1st/2nd jhana from access concentration.

I don’t believe that hindrances have increased lately, if anything I would say that they’ve diminished. No additional stress/trauma occurred recently.
    Thank you for any advice.

Andrew S

Hi Vitaliy,