Intro + Questions: off-cushion practices

Front Page Forums Dharma Practice in Daily Life Intro + Questions: off-cushion practices

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Matthew Immergut 10 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hello Dharma friends,
    My name is Khemako, I’m a Western monk in the Theravada lineage of Ajahn Cha. I’ve been practicing since about 1999, though only got serious about it lately. I’m 54, and I ordained last year.

You might think that a monastic lifestyle would be ideal for serious practice, and there are certainly a lot of advantages. But alas one’s non-monk mind comes along into the robes. Although the teaching, resources and support at the monastery are very good indeed, I’m still keen to learn from other practitioners.

In my search I came across the work of Ven. Culadasa and found his guide to the stages of meditation to be quite helpful. I don’t think there’s anything quite this structured, accessible and systematic within the Thai Forest Tradition.

My initial question has to do with what Ven. Culadasa refers to as “ancillary off-cushion practices”. I’m at a phase where more continuity is important. There are a lot of techniques I’ve tried derived from e.g. the Pali Canon to maintain mindfulness, guard the sense doors and so forth between formal meditation sessions. None of them suit me perfectly and I haven’t developed a solid routine with any of them.

Since I’ve found so much value in Ven. Culadasa’s systematic presentation and instructions on developing samatha, I wonder if there might be a similar resource regarding off-cushion practices? Are there specific practices recommended for the various stages of samatha development?

Any input would be appreciated.

Blake Barton
    Keymaster

Hello Ven. Khemako,