4 Step transition and attention/awareness

Front Page Forums Meditation 4 Step transition and attention/awareness

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Black Ghost 7 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Black Ghost

Hello everyone – first post here after picking up a copy of TMI a few weeks ago. It’s interesting reading and I’ve read lots of posts on the forum here. I’ve been practicing for around 3 years but have had a lapse of not doing any the past few months so I’ve gone through a fair bit of the book by now and am trying to do 3×40 minute sessions a day currently. I have a couple of things I’m unsure how best to approach when doing the 4 Step transition to the meditation object.

1. It mentions in step 3 (p51):
    “If you want to perceive them more clearly, try imagining that you’re looking at the place where the sensations are occurring”. In the same paragraph it goes on to say (p52) “Nor should you visualize the area in your mind.” I’m unsure as to whether it’s ok to visualize the area of the sensation being observed. I haven’t done a great deal of body sensation work previously but when I do I find I need to have some sort mental picture of the area of the body in order to focus on the sensations there.

2. I find my attention is generally drawn more to sounds than body sensations – when doing step 1 of the transition, I have open awareness and I’m mostly noticing outdoor background sounds. I then move through steps 2 to 4, trying to have the various bodily sensations in attention. When sounds from outside come and go I can notice them being in awareness (in the background) and sometimes they come to the forefront (attention) briefly until they pass or I move the attention back to the body.