Struggling with practice

Front Page Forums Help Wanted or Offered Struggling with practice

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Blake Barton 7 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Stefan

(This is a slight reformulation of text I originally wrote on TMI subreddit. I was referred to this place so that I can ask Culadasa directly for advice about my problem.)

I have been meditating for 5+ months with TMI (1 hour daily) and my sessions still feel as poor as they did on day 1. I have a lot of problems with kriyas/kundalini syndrome (https://youtu.be/aTaDZqB_RY8) which manifested as a result of my previous practices. Because of that, I had to take a different primary object for meditation (blackness that is in front of me when I close my eyes, the reason for this will become apparent below). I am still at stage 2 (I know this because the length of mind wandering hasn’t reduced significantly). There is no indication that I’ll move past it at this rate. Constant negative feedback has slowly eroded my will to practice.

My old approach goes like this:

A) I settle my attention on primary object
    B) After few seconds, my attention gets captured by a peculiar chronic tension in my body (head and spine)
    C) I resettle my attention on the object while tension is still there
    D) If I am lucky regular relaxation seems to kick in and I can notice and appreciate when I recover from mind-wandering

The general idea was to use the blackness as primary object until stage 4 where I’d switch to breath sensations.

The chronic tension I mentioned has following qualities:

– It appears whenever I place my attention somewhere on the body
    – It is usually spread throughout spine and face
    – It feels “sticky” and constantly demands my attention