Stage 4 Tension Headaces – Pushing Through Vs. Switching Focus To The Abdomen

Front Page Forums Meditation Stage 4 Tension Headaces – Pushing Through Vs. Switching Focus To The Abdomen

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Erlend K 6 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Erlend K

Hi fellow meditators!

This is my first post on this forum.

To introduce myself, I have been meditating regularly since August 2016. The first four months I did pure samatha/anapanasati (I don’t really understand the difference between these two), and gradually worked my way up to 1,5 hours a day. I started enjoying meditation a lot, and noticed that my lifelong problems of constantly zoning out and being in my own head diminished month by month. Around Christmas I started getting strong pressure is my head witch seemed like a dense, shaking cloud/lump that pulsated with my hearthbeat, when I examined it. This was combined with sinusoidal pain. I would feel the pain outside of meditation as well, but it was particularly strong during meditation. I assumed that this was a sinusoidal infection, and decided to take a break from meditation since the pressure and pain changed meditation from an enjoyable hobby to a dreaded chore I had to force myself through.

I signed up for a yin yoga course instead, and after reading Kristin Neff’s book and a few research papers, also did a 8 week mindful self-compassion course. About two months ago I switched back to anapansastati. My daily practice is about 1 hour anapanasati + one hour distributed over yoga, metta, self-compassion and mindful walking.