Lucid Dreaming

This topic contains 13 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  bluelotus9 6 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Jordan Hill

I recently engaged in an e-mail brain dump about a topic that I very much love exploring: lucid dreaming. Most of you know already that to have a lucid dream means to be aware that you are dreaming while you are dreaming. Lucid dreaming is a spiritual practice in many different cultures, including Buddhism, so I thought it might be neat to post my brain dump here if anyone’s interested in pursuing a lucid dreaming practice. I’ve been working at it off and on for the past 10 years or so, so I have plenty of thoughts and and such to share. Here goes– apologies for any rough patches, since this is minimally edited.

Jordan Hill

Lucid dreaming and practice:

From a more psychological side, lucid dreaming is such a cool way of exploring one’s unconscious. From a Jungian point of view, you could say you’re exploring the collective unconscious and all its archetypes. That then shifts into a shamanic perspective in which lucid dreaming is essentially journeying in the other world– it can be a way of meeting allies, shapeshifting to better navigate different realms, exploring different realms, and then using the “map” one develops for typical shamanic purposes (healing, spiritual growth, etc.)