curious about ringing buzzing like sound in the head

Front Page Forums Meditation curious about ringing buzzing like sound in the head

This topic contains 8 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  JavaJeff 6 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Orhan K

I started learning about meditation beginning of this year and attended the Shambhala retreat in July. For the last couple of weeks, I have been hearing a sound in my head which I believe is results of meditation. It is maybe about 1000 Hz. vibration which is located on top part of my head or brain. I do not have tinnitus or any ear issues and the noise is not in my ears. I can tune into this noise anytime during the day and kinda exist in it. I also have been experimenting with focusing on it during meditation and it works. It does not bother me in anyway since I can tune it out or focus on it.
    I now remember that I heard this noise before in my life and just ignored it. But now it is always there if I want to invoke it.
    I am wondering the source of it: 1) is it because my brain’s wiring is changing and I got some feedback loop or 2) is it because I am becoming more sensitive and hearing something which was always there.
    Sometimes I can hear my hearth beat modulating this vibration. So it is two separate frequencies.
    I am also wondering if this is a stage and this noise will disappear or will I always have access to it.

Hi Orhan