The Object of Meditation

Front Page Forums Meditation The Object of Meditation

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Jerry 5 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Jerry

Hi,

I’ve been meditating on and off for 6 or 7 years and have restarted my practice a few months ago and dusted off my TMI book a couple of weeks ago. I meditate about 2 hours a day along with hiking/walking my dog most days.

I believe I am stage 3/4 getting constant purifications but struggling to always have the breath in my awareness. When I do lose it is never for very long though and it is always as a result of getting pulled away by a memory related to a purification. I get a strong “knot” in my neck or throat that brings up feelings of anger and then memories/fantasies related to the anger.

My question is whether to stick with the breath or focus on the know or burning sensation. When I keep focusing on the breath I get more focused and the sensation gets strong and stronger and becomes basically impossible to ignore but when I move my attention to the sensation I get strong bodily movements that seems to help release some of the tension. But I can never stay with the sensation for long without getting pulled away into discursive thoughts. Because I don’t know which to focus on I keep switching between both and I fear the uncertainty is slowing down my progress.

I hope this makes sense and I’m grateful for this opportunity to join this community.

Jerry

Darlene T

Hi Jerry,