Morning / Evening

Front Page Forums Meditation Morning / Evening

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Josh Geller 5 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Claudio

Hello everyone, this is my first post here and I’m very grateful to be able to participate in this forum.

I have been practicing meditation seriously for almost 3 years. I started with the Goenka technique (2 retreats), then discovered Mahasi method and finally got my hand on Culadasa’s book.

I’m on what I believe be stage 7 and recently was able to enter the bodly jhana.

I try to practice in the morning and at evening and the difference between the two sits is huge.

In the morning I’m able to sit for 40 min to 1 hour within the characteristics of stage 7 but at night I’m only able to sit for 15 to 25 minutes and I have much more difficulty to keep focused on the breath sensations, many thoughts seem to “slip” in and takes me a while to realize it.

Do you guys face this difficulty on the evening meditation?
    Any advices of how to make it better?

Roght now I feel that I’m doing it more to keep the discipline strong than to really make progress.

Thank you for your attention.

With Metta

Doug Tataryn

Hello Claudio

I wonder if the difference in your ability to sit between morning and evening have to do with the context. Do you find yourself more agitated and or stressed from the day activities in the evening compared to the morning sits? If so I would suggest you spend some time tuning into and acknowledging the emotions and feelings that may be activated from your days event. Even naming them will give you some freedom from them, while actually feeling and expressing them will give you even more calm and freedom from them, and they won;t be trying to grab your attention when you go to sit.

All the best

Anonymous

Hi Claudio,