7 months, no real progress, monkey mind prevails

Front Page Forums Meditation 7 months, no real progress, monkey mind prevails

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Steve 4 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Laura K

I’ve been practicing the TMI method every day for the past 7 months (minimum 45 mins, often more than an hour), but I’m still getting real bouts of mind wandering.

Some days I can concentrate quite well and recognize the distraction before the wander (sometimes/rarely I reach stage 3 or 4 for maybe 20-30 mins), other days, the wandering prevails and agitation often ensues (which I observe and don’t get too wrapped up in).

I’ve hit higher stages on retreats (Vipassana – Goenka), but daily sits using TMI method don’t seem to be improving my practice (the frequency of reaching stage 3-4 isn’t increasing, & the duration I spend in gross distraction or wandering doesn’t seem to be decreasing).

I remind myself its not about getting attached to advancing but simply the intention to come back to the breath and being happy that I returned to the breath and ‘woke up’, but still! +6 months and lots of mind wandering… I can’t help but think I’m missing something, any tips?

Happy to provide more info/description

Wishing everyone the best on their path

Tanvi

I am a novice, and cannot help you technically however I would like to congratulate you that you have been consistent in your practice for 6 months and can devote 45 -60 minutes of your time to meditation. I try to do it 11-15 minutes a day but fail to do it consistently.

All i can say is keep practicing and you will get there one day. Also, Re-reading the book sometimes helps! Good luck with your practice. I hope you succeed soon!

Tom