10 Stages and the Dark Night

Front Page Forums Meditation 10 Stages and the Dark Night

Tagged: 

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Nick Grabovac 8 years ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Joey

Hello everybody,

I will first tell you something about myself.

I have been meditating for almost 4,5 years now, have been on several retreats of two weeks and done a few home retreats.
    My meditation mostly was Vipassana and my teachers teacher was Mettavihari. This meditation was based on Mahasi Sayadaws noting technique. During some retreats I have endured the Dukkha nanas(knowledges of suffering) also called the Dark Night. One period after a retreat I still was in the DN and it was only after nine months in daily life that I was able to reach the other side of the shore(but no awakening). I didn´t new the Insight knowledges at that time, so I fell back to below the knowledge of the arising and passing. Before my last (official) retreat I really prepared for this, so I was meditating six hours a day and stayed mindful during the day as much as possible. When I entered the retreat at day one I crossed the knowledge of the arising and passing, and then the Dukkha nanas began. I had experienced this before in other retreats but I didn´t know about the insight knowledges. So I thought ´why is this happening, I prepared so much and can stay mindful all day continuously and still my mindfulness is decreasing´. Actually I was progressing, because the mindfulness became broader but also out of synch and because of that it seemed less strong, but was actually stronger. I didn´t knew this at that time and the teachers couldn´t convince me to stay, so I left at day 4.
    Later I came across the dharmaundergound, the website of Daniel Ingram and there I found these sixteen insight knowledges.