time to switch to other practices?

Front Page Forums Meditation time to switch to other practices?

This topic contains 33 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Julian S 5 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author

ST1000

Hi all,

I have been practicing with TMI since January of 2017 and other practices before that. Currently stage 5 but haven’t done too much body scanning yet with the TMI method. Generally have been practicing 60-70 minutes a day – more recently 45 minutes daily. I have been through a lot of kriyas, purifications, and energy movement since beginning TMI. A few months ago I felt better than I can remember feeling – relaxed, heart more open, sleeping well, etc. However for the past few months I noticed that the practice does not make me feel better – I think it has been increasing anxiety and agitation and causing difficulty with sleeping.

A few weeks ago I had some significant life stressors (moving, stating a demanding new job) so I went back to mindfulness based stress reduction (MBSR) practices guided by Jon Kabat-Zinn – body scan, sitting practice. I felt much better during the few weeks I returned to these MBSR practices. For the past two days I went back to strict breath awareness and quickly noted some mild movements, chills, impatience, and afterwords I feel not great again throughout the day.

I have tried to practice with relaxation but suppose I could do this more. I also have tried some of the spinal breathing that Blake has recommended to other to smooth out energy but again could probably do this more. I notice in addition to the MBSR practices, self compassion practices are very relaxing and feel healing for me and really seem to facilitate me dropping into the present moment.