Stage 2 – blocked breath energy

Front Page Forums Meditation Stage 2 – blocked breath energy

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Alex K 5 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Alex K

Hi,

I am new to the TMI method but practiced Anapanasati for many years. My normal practice was a whole breath body based meditation (Ajahn Thanissaro/Ajahn Lee).

I am having difficulty discerning the sensations of breath at the nose area in Stage 2. Increasing attention to try to make them more prominent has the undesirable effect of decreasing awareness and is also quite uncomfortable due to sensations of tension in body. Backing off on effort is better for steady peripheral awareness but the breath sensations seem to disappear completely at times.

Update:

I tried staying with Stage 1 to see if the tenseness I feel is present just when I focus in on sensations at the nose. Staying with breath sensations more broadly throughout the body revealed that there is a lot of tension throughout the ‘breath body’. They are mainly felt in the abdomen, chest, shoulders and throat areas. The breath feels tight and constricted. Allowing the attention to rest mainly around the abdomen breath sensations is slightly better and I did have some feelings of ease and a brightening of awareness.

Should I stay with Stage 1 for now until these breath tensions are ‘unblocked’ and not proceed to other Stages until this is better understood and alleviated? Has anyone had experience of this?

Thank you for any help/guidance.

• This topic was modified 5 years, 9 months ago by  Alex K.

Andrew S

Hi Alex,

First I’d say that it sounds like you’ve done some really useful exploration of what’s happening in your practice. I think that willingness to experiment and take a deep dive into what’s arising for you is key to “making the practice your own” and progressing.