Full Body Breath Sensations or Piti Pumping?

Front Page Forums Meditation Full Body Breath Sensations or Piti Pumping?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Blake Barton 6 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Aaron A

I’ve been working through the TMI stages for a few months. I believe I am in stage 5, 6 or 7, but not certain and a have a few questions that might help me identify where I am, and what techniques I should focus on. But first a bit of a detour to give you some background… I come to this shamatha practice with many years of yoga and a few years of pranayama. A few years ago I began meditating following Yogani’s Advanced Yoga Practices system which is based on meditation using a simple mantra. I read 4 or 5 of his books and found his Spinal Breathing Pranayama technique quite effective. I could easily generate fairly intense energy sensations during each inhale, especially when combined with mulabandha (toning the perineum) and shambhavi mudra (lifting the internal gaze to the 3rd eye). While at first, these sensations seemed extraordinary, after awhile I was able to reproduce them so reliably and mechanically that I began to think of the technique as a “cheap party trick”… neat at first.. but once you know the trick it’s not that amazing. Eventually, I dropped the AYP mantra meditation and didn’t really practice for over a year.