Differentiating between awareness and attention as a body experience

Front Page Forums Meditation Differentiating between awareness and attention as a body experience

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Bernadette 6 years ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Bernadette

Hello,

Is it true to say that introspective awareness includes the sensations of anything i perceive from outside and inside me at the same time? Is my purpose to be splitting my attention between my breath primarily and all other sensations secondarily and at the same time maintaining awareness that that is exactly what I am doing?

I have been sitting regularly for two years but using TMI only for the past 3 or so months. Something good is definitely happening going by my daily experiences off the cushion but i have no idea when im in the right space or not once I turn my attention/ awareness inwards.

Comments welcomed. Bernadette

Becky C

Bernadette,

“Is it true to say that introspective awareness includes the sensations of anything i perceive from outside and inside me at the same time?”
    I believe introspective awareness is stuff inside us and extrospective outside, external (sights sounds smells)

Is my purpose to be splitting my attention between my breath primarily and all other sensations secondarily and at the same time maintaining awareness that that is exactly what I am doing”
    I believe in the beginning this is so.

I have been sitting regularly for two years but using TMI only for the past 3 or so months. Something good is definitely happening going by my daily experiences off the cushion but i have no idea when im in the right space or not once I turn my attention/ awareness inwards.” i am having the same off cushion experience if quality if life improving and i dont know the termanology!

Wishing you good fortune!

Frederic

Hi,